Ktismatics

24 November 2008

Nightmare Alley by Goulding, 1947

Filed under: Movies — ktismatics @ 5:33 pm

nightmare-club

“Have you an answer for this question?”

“Oh, I’m afraid not.”

“Why?”

“Because this question has to do with the stock market, a labyrinth whose eccentricities no mentalist of my acquaintance has ever been able to solve. As a matter of fact, I tried it two or three times myself and find that I can do much better at the racetrack.”

nightmare-geek

“Magicians are a dime a dozen nowadays. Anyway I never fool with an act unless it’s got something sensational. Wait… I just happened to think of something. I might have a job you can take a crack at. Course it isn’t much, and I’m not begging you to take it, but it’s a job.

“That’s all I want.”

“We’ll keep you in coffee and cakes. A bottle a day, a place to sleep it off in. What do you say? Anyway it’s only temporary, just until we can get a real geek.”

“Geek?!”

“You know what a geek is, don’t you?”

“Yeah. Sure, I know what a geek is.”

“You think you can handle it?”

“Mister, I was made for it.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

