Ktismatics

30 September 2006

A Failure of Virtual Imagination?

Filed under: Ktismata — ktismatics @ 11:39 am

In an earlier post I mentioned the upcoming Baylor conference on Christian Imagination, saying that I would explore putting the talks up on a blog. First I asked Coleman Fannin what he thought. His notice about the conference over at Generous Orthodoxy first caught my eye, and he’s going to be a speaker there. Here’s what Coleman said:

That’s a very interesting idea. Honestly, I have no idea what the response would be from the speakers, presenters, or readers. You may run into a problem with the more “senior” academics who are not familiar with or interested in blogs, and it’d be tough to get the word out and generate responses. Then again, you never know, and if it worked it certainly could be a great discussion. Thanks for contacting me, and please let me know if you decide to go forward.

Encouraged by Coleman’s response, I emailed the Baylor Institute on Faith and Learning (IFL), the conference organizers. I told them I would make a blog dedicated exclusively to the conference that would serve as a sort of “virtual conference” for people who couldn’t attend in person. I said I’d get in touch with the presenters individually, but that I wouldn’t proceed if the IFL nixed it. Here’s the Associat Director’s response:

Thank you for your enthusiastic interest in the “The World and Christian Imagination” as well as your kind offer to design and host a blog for the event. While the idea is an interesting one that we may take under consideration for future conferences, we have determined that we will have to pass on the opportunity for this conference.

Best wishes,
Ronny Fritz, Institute for Faith and Learning

Baylor University

As I mentioned to Coleman, this is the kind of rejection that makes me want to go ahead and set the blog up anyway – but I won’t. Instead, I’ll try to get in touch with a few of the presenters individually and see what kind of work they’re doing. If it makes sense I’ll post links from this blog and perhaps stimulate discussion that way.

2 Comments »

  1. There are a lot of people in the real world paranoid about the virtual world….but on the other hand I guess there are also a lot of virtual people paranoid about the real world!

    Like

    Comment by Jonathan Erdman — 2 October 2006 @ 7:49 pm

  2. Oh well… it was kind of a cool idea. Maybe some other conference. Maybe we’ll have to invent a virtual conference for which there is no real-world analog.

    Like

    Comment by ktismatics — 2 October 2006 @ 9:19 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

